How do I become a qualified music therapist?

2019.08.22

We get this question quite often! If you are interested in training to become a qualified music therapist, there are a few options you can consider. All music therapists received training in tertiary institutions and receive their professional registrations after they graduate. Currently there are no tertiary institutions that offer music therapy courses in Hong Kong. Interested candidates must apply for universities overseas or enrol in a distance learning program with an overseas university. The 60 odd qualified music therapists practising in Hong Kong presently all received their music therapy training in Australia, Canada, United Kingdom (UK) and United States of America (USA).

In Australia and UK, music therapy courses offered across different universities are at postgraduate level, whilst in Canada and USA, both undergraduate and graduate programs are available. To enrol in a masters level course, the usual prerequisites include a related undergraduate degree (music, psychology, nursing etc), a certain level of music abilities, basic credits done in psychology and an audition/interview. To enrol in a bachelors level course, the usual prerequisites include an audition/interview.

After finishing your degree, you will need to apply for registration with the various registration boards in the respective countries. Some countries such as the USA will require all applicants to pass an examination before granting the professional registration. The easiest way to access comprehensive information on music therapy training and registration requirements is to visit the music therapy associations of each country:

Australian Music Therapy Association: https://www.austmta.org.au/
Canadian Association of Music Therapists: https://www.musictherapy.ca/?
UK British Association for Music Therapy: https://www.bamt.org/
USA American Music Therapy Association: https://www.musictherapy.org/

In 2018, the first blended-learning masters of music therapy program started in Hong Kong at the Hong Kong University (Space) in partnership with The University of Melbourne (Australia). This course offers students the chance to receive music therapy training (masters degree level) locally. All course contents are taught by the academic team at The University of Melbourne, who meets with students in person for intensive lessons every few months and for tutorials online. Students will do their clinical placements with local music therapists. Interested candidates will need to complete the Postgraduate Diploma in Music Therapy at HKU Space to be eligible to apply for this course.

As music therapy becomes an increasingly established allied health profession all around the world, the need to receive quality training and maintain professional standards become increasingly important as well. Feel free to contact any of our qualified music therapists currently working in Hong Kong if you have serious considerations of becoming a music therapist! Our contact information can be found on the directory at Hong Kong Music Therapy Association website
https://www.musictherapyhk.org/

Registered Music Therapist (Australia)
Angela Ho

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

如何成為合資格音樂治療師?

2019.08.22

我們經常被問及這條問題!若你有興趣成為合資格音樂治療師,可考慮以下途徑。所有音樂治療師必須修讀高等院校課程,畢業後申請註冊再獲取專業資格。現時,香港的高等院校並沒有提供相關的音樂治療課程,有興趣的人士須報讀海外大學的本科生課程或網上遙距課程。在香港執業的60多名音樂治療師均於海外註冊,包括澳洲、加拿大、英國及美國。

在澳洲及英國,各大學的音樂治療課程均屬研究生課程;而在加拿大及美國的學府,則有提供本科生及研究生課程。通常報讀碩士課程必須先修讀相關的本科生課程(例如音樂、心理學或護理學等),亦需擁有一定程度的音樂能力,並在心理學科取得基礎學分和參與面試。而報讀本科生課程,必須先參加面試。

當你完成學位後,須於當地申請專業註冊。有些國家例如美國會要求申請人參加考試,取得合格後方能擁有專業資格。想知道更多關於各國的音樂治療課程及註冊細則,請瀏覽以下網站:

Australian Music Therapy Association: https://www.austmta.org.au/
Canadian Association of Music Therapists: https://www.musictherapy.ca/?
UK British Association for Music Therapy: https://www.bamt.org/
USA American Music Therapy Association: https://www.musictherapy.org/

在2018年,首個由香港大學專業進修學院及澳洲墨爾本大學合辦,採用混成式教學的音樂治療碩士課程在香港推出。此課程給予學生在本地培訓的機會。課程內容均由澳洲墨爾本大學的學術團隊教授,每數個月會與學生親身會面及進行密集式授課,同時提供網上教程。學生須與香港本地的音樂治療師進行臨床實習。有興趣報讀的人士須先修讀香港大學專業進修學院的音樂治療深造文憑。

世界各地對音樂治療這健康專業的需求日益增加,而對接受具質素的培訓和保持專業水平亦尤其重要。若大家有興趣成為我們一員,歡迎大家聯絡任何一何在港執業的音樂治療師以了解更多!我們的聯絡方法可在香港音樂治療師協會的網站找到:https://www.musictherapyhk.org/

註冊音樂治療師(澳洲)
何岸濃

0 回復

發表評論

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

發佈留言

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *