About IMTC

IMTC was established in 2013. In early 2017, IMTC became the first social enterprise in Hong Kong dedicated to the growth and promotion of music therapy, as recognized by Hong Kong Council of Social Service.

We only hire internationally-recognized and registered music therapists and psychologists. This guarantees that our clients and patients always receive a world-class service quality.

We serve individuals, non-profit organisations, schools, hospitals, and more. Read more about who we work with and what we do here: Our work.

Core Values

PASSION

All our colleagues and music therapists are passionate about the therapeutic benefits music brings to the self and to the wider community. We always go the extra mile in our work.

CREATIVITY

Our team is highly flexible in running therapeutic sessions that increases motivation as well as engagement among participants. Music experiences and feelings of empathy can help particpants achieve better therapeutic outcome.

EVIDENCE-BASED

Music therapy is gaining increasing attention in the world of research and academia. We stay updated on the latest research to ensure our services move with the time and are in line with global practices, meeting individual’s therapeutic needs.

TEAMWORK

Different music therapy approaches are suited for different participants and clinical settings. Our therapists focus on different areas to develop their unique strengths, passion, and expertise – this ensures IMTC’s team are well-equipped to address a large variety of therapeutic needs.

Social Enterprise

Message from the Founder

I once had a patient and their family describe music therapy as bringing them a miracle. I answered: “Music therapy is not a miracle, but a scientifically-driven therapy that offers spiritual and physical healing”. Music can connect to the brain and improve mental, cognitive (concentration, memory, intelligence, etc.), and physical function, as well as language, social, and communication capabilities. This ultimately leads to clear health improvements for the body, mind, and spirit.

Many people agree that life cannot be lived without music. Music therapists establish unique treatment directions and goals to accommodate varying musical preferences and participant needs. All of this is offered in a safe and comfortable environment.

To be clear, receiving music therapy does not require any musical knowledge and experience. There is no limit on age and ability – music therapy is for everyone. Participants of all ages and backgrounds can use music therapy to overcome difficulties in their lives.

We strictly adhere to professional ethics and keep our patients’ information fully confidential. IMTC is committed to the global movement and growth of music therapy and its benefits. We will update and upload relevant articles regularly.



IMTC
Director
Mr Kingman Chung

© Copyright - International Music Therapy Centre 國際音樂治療中心

關於 IMTC

國際音樂治療中心 (IMTC) 於2013年成立,並在2017年初成為首間由香港社會服務聯會 (HKCSS) 認可,以社會企業 (Social Enterprise) 模式運作的音樂治療中心。

為維持最高水平的服務質素,IMTC 所有的音樂治療師及心理學家均具世界認可的專業資格。我們的服務對象包括個人及家庭、非營利組織、學校、醫院等。按此處了解更多關於我們的服務對象及服務: 我們的工作.

核心價值

熱心服務

我們每一位成員及治療師對音樂治療都充滿熱誠,並相信音樂治療對自己及社會的價值,希望自己的工作能夠帶來更多效益。

別具創意

我們的團隊提供具高度靈活性的鼓勵及治療服務,從而令參加者更加投入過程,享受新鮮愉快的體驗及最佳的治療結果。

循證醫學

音樂治療的研究及學術討論在近年越來越備受重視,我們緊貼有關音樂治療的最新研究,確保客戶能享受最先進及符合全球標準的服務。

團隊合作

我們因應情況而採用不同的音樂治療方法,每個治療師都具其獨特之處、擅長領域及專業知識,以確保IMTC能按照客人需要提供最適合的專業服務。

社會企業

歡迎詞

曾有患者和家人向我形容音樂治療帶給他們奇蹟,我回答:「音樂治療並不是奇蹟,而是一個有科學根據、結合心靈和身體上的醫治。」 音樂能連結大腦,並結合腦的活動,包括心理、認知 (專注力、記憶力、智能等) 、 身體機能、語言 、社交和溝通等能力,所以音樂治療能有助提升身、心、靈的健康。

很多人都認同生命中不能沒有音樂。音樂治療師會因應參加者對音樂的喜好和需要,建立獨有的治療方向和目標,在舒適和安全的音樂活動下,提供專業的治療服務。

請不要誤會,接受音樂治療毋須任何音樂知識及經驗,也沒有年齡和能力上的限制,因此, 音樂治療適合所有人。讓不同背景、年齡的人士,均能以音樂治療克服生活中面對的困難。

本中心嚴格堅持「專業操守」,並保密所有客戶之個人資料。IMTC 致力在全球推廣音樂治療及其療效,我們會定期更新及上載有關文章。

國際音樂治療中心
總監
鍾敬文先生